Ashby Free Public Library

Board of Trustees

First, the Board of Library Trustees would like to thank Helen Nash for her many years of service. Helen retired from the Board at the end of 2000. Helen was a library trustee since 1963 and over the years gave a great deal of time to the library – re-shelving library books, assisting the director in purchasing library materials and even serving as janitor for a time. Helen served most recently as the financial secretary and on the scholarship committee. We thank her for her generosity of time, spirit and knowledge.

In the past year, library hours were expanded by five hours per week. The budget was increased by about $1,700.00 for an appropriated budget of $22,650.00 to support services. The current library budget costs less per capita per year than renting one video per month or buying a hardcover bestseller per year. The library computers were updated. There is public internet access at the library.

The Trustees formalized some policies as part of a new library policy handbook. The policy book as well as Trustee monthly meeting notes are available for public review at the library.

The library scholarship committee awarded 47 scholarships this year; three were for academic achievement (see recipient list below and see library treasurer’s report for the academic recipient list).

Long term planning for the library includes addressing inadequate space and building deficiencies. An open house to highlight proposed building plans was held in April. The Trustees are applying for a state construction grant through the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners to support possible expansion. The grant application was submitted January 18, 2001 and awards will be announced sometime in June.

Scholarship recipients:

James Barrette Jules Pelto

Michele Batchelder JoAnn Dik

Sondra Braneff Jessica Dik

Kristina Caron Rene Thibaudeau

Jennifer Craigen Greg Lonnquist

Steven Craigen Lyndsey Stacy

Robert LeBlanc Amy Goubeaud

Matthew Leonard Justin Adams

Stacy Miller Leanna Aho

Christopher Money Brian Bigwood

Nathaniel Myles Krystal Malone

Derek Oetinger Peter Mason II

Jeni Pernaa Abbi Pernaa

Tracie Pouliot Amy Cline

Richard Shaw III Richard Barrette

Melissa McMurray Gina Tacconi-Moore

Kristine Belliveau Betty Lou Morey

John Lehtinen Brooke Lagasse

Brian Lehtinen Cassandra Daley

Jean Manney Monica Adams

Emily LeMay Peter Barrette

Allisen LeMay Derick Fors

Respectfully submitted,

Amy Aubertin